Old Lessons, New Meaning

June 13, 2017 § Leave a comment

My husband and I recently found out we are expecting our first child, a baby boy, in November. We couldn’t be more excited to embark on this journey together, along with our parents, who will be first- time grandparents. Needless to say, this little miracle will be given lots of love and attention.

image1Our lives will be changing greatly when our baby boy arrives.  We know we will be learning much about patience and selflessness, as this world, up to this point, has revolved around our individual wants, needs, and schedules.  As I am entering into my fifth month of pregnancy, I have developed a new personal perspective on some important life lessons, which I would like to share.

  • Gratitude: From seeing the positive sign on the home pregnancy test to hearing the baby’s heartbeat for the first time, I have such immense gratitude for this precious life. Before we knew we were going to have a baby, I would go through each day’s routine, just tending to everyday responsibilities. I now find myself taking in moments throughout day to reflect on the richness of my life and the undeserved blessings I have been given. During this time, it has become more evident to me that important life events can heighten present-moment awareness and reflection.
  • Family: On the day we found out we were expecting, we immediately called our parents to share the wonderful news, knowing how thrilled they would be. In becoming a first-time mommy, I now have a new appreciation for my mom and my mother-in-law, as I look to them for advice, guidance, and wisdom. It has created a unique, special bond between us, now that I am a member of the very elite club of motherhood. More than ever before, I recognize how critically important my parents are in my life, and I need for them to know how much they mean to me.  It has become very real to me that the love and support of family is the greatest gift.
  • Nutrition: After finding out I was expecting, I started reading books to learn about better nutrition, knowing full well that I had to do away with some food and drinks that were not good for me (e.g., I love Coke and fried food!). I’m now being much more careful, and I hope to maintain better eating habits once the baby arrives. It’s not unusual that sometimes it takes a major change in life’s circumstances to recognize that adjustments need to be made.  I regret that it took pregnancy for me to incorporate a healthier lifestyle, but it has certainly aroused in me the desire to take better care of myself and to think about the importance of being a good example to our little one.
  • Priorities: As I have heard from my working mom friends, once this baby arrives, priorities will shift dramatically, as this tiny, new bundle will require our utmost attention and be our primary focus for a period of time. Work-life balance will take on a whole new meaning, as consideration must be given to the best interests of our son.  The responsibilities of parenthood can seem overwhelming at times.  It is a process I look forward to experiencing, as we navigate through the coming years.

Whether you have a family or are single, I believe that all of these lessons learned are always a good reminder – living your life filled with gratitude, loving on your family, becoming informed about nutrition to improve your health, and making your family a priority.

Sara Rolffs, CPA
sara-rolffs
Supervisor – McGowen, Hurst, Clark & Smith, P.C.
srolffs@mhcscpa.com

 

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Old Lessons, New Meaning at McGowen, Hurst, Clark & Smith.

meta